Welcome, visitor, to the website of the FMF symposium. This is a yearly event which is organized by dedicated members of the FMF, the study association for (applied) mathematics, (applied) physics and astronomy at the University of Groningen.

This year, the theme of the symposium will be “Chain Reactions”. When you’re organizing a science symposium, you have to be inspired by the biggest events in the world. And, by no doubt, the hottest topic of this year was COVID-19. The virus started in a small market and with more and more people interacting, exponentially spread around the whole world, reminiscent of a chain reaction.

This topic, obviously, is not only about the spread of the virus. It’s open to many different interpretations by Physics, Astronomy and Mathematics. Firstly, you can think of the countless “chain reactions” in naturein the nature, such as chemical or nuclear reactions. You might even want to consider the very existence of the universe as a chain reaction.

The topic also reminds one of ‘going from small to big’. This invites a discussion of how the building blocks of matter make up a larger structure, such as how quantum effects in electrons disappear on the larger scale. You can even interpret the topic as a literal chain reaction, like the fall of a domino chain, and discuss the complex Physics and Mathematics behind that motion.

We would want to point out that the spread of a scientific theory around the world also resembles a chain reaction. It’s quite fascinating how an idea on someone’s mind, with more people getting involved in the process and experimenting, ultimately becomes a theory accepted around the world.

The Symposium will take place on the 25th of February 2021.

The committee

The Symcie is the organizing committee for the FMF Symposium. Tasks include contacting potential speakers, arrange sponsoring, finding a suitable location and promoting the event. It is a great way to gain experience in the organization of a large event, but also to get familiar with current research and topics that are not included in the curriculum.


  • Yigit Kirca - Chairman
  • Alexandra Meerovici - Secretary
  • Manal Alsairafi - Treasurer
  • Iisakki Rotko - Business & Speaker Commissioner